10 Authors Like Louise Penny

    Because you need something to hold you over until her next book.

    A New York Times bestselling author and five-time Agatha Award winner (among many others), Louise Penny captured lightning in a bottle when she created her Quebecois Chief Inspector Armand Gamache 12 novels ago. But now you’ve read them all! Which is why we’ve rounded up 10 other novels from authors like Penny. Read on for tales of murder and comeuppance, and who knows: You just may find a favorite new sleuth series to occupy your Sunday mornings.

    Ruth Rendell

    Buy An Unkindness of Ravens at Amazon

    An Unkindness of Ravens

    By Ruth Rendell

    Edgar Award-winning Ruth Rendell delivers a strong addition–the 13th for those keeping track–to the Inspector Reginald Wexford series with An Unkindness. The story begins with a man’s disappearance written off as an act of midlife crisis: Man leaves wife for younger woman. Though what kind of crime fiction fans would we be if we believed that? You’ll just have to give it a read, though, to find out just what links said man to a militant group whose symbol is a raven with a woman’s head.

    An Unkindness of Ravens

    By Ruth Rendell

    Colin Cotterill

    Buy The Coroner's Lunch at Amazon

    The Coroner's Lunch

    By Colin Cotterill

    You can’t have a good mystery without a great setting, and Colin Cotterill’s series kickoff delivers. Here, we’re whisked away to exotic Laos in 1975 for several stories within a story: Meet Dr. Siri Paiboun, a 72-year-old doctor-appointed-national coroner who, while solving multiple mini murders a la Sherlock Holmes, is wrapped up in a political thriller of his own. The New York Times calls it “wonderfully fresh,” but we have just one descriptor for it: unputdownable.

    The Coroner's Lunch

    By Colin Cotterill

    Marco Vichi

    Buy Death in August at Amazon

    Death in August

    By Marco Vichi

    An elevated police procedural, Marco Vichi’s A Death in August takes place in the thick, mosquito-stuffed air of Florence in late summer of 1963. Inspector Bordelli is your man, and he’s got a lot on his mind: the heftiest being the burden of figuring out who killed a wealthy older woman in her villa. A puzzle that will keep you engaged throughout, Vichi’s novel shines in his depiction of the city’s food and wine, and even more so in the hopelessly endearing Bordelli. Bon appetit with this one.

    Death in August

    By Marco Vichi

    From the first lady of American mystery... Download your FREE copy of Masterpieces of Mystery by Anna Katharine Green when you sign up for Early Bird Books!

    Anne Perry

    Buy The Cater Street Hangman at Amazon

    The Cater Street Hangman

    By Anne Perry

    This, the introduction to an unlikely pair—proper lady Charlotte Ellison and young sleuth Thomas Pitt—is a Victorian-era murder mystery-meets-engrossing love affair that minds its manners with every page-turn. As Pitt investigates the murder of a maid who once resided in the elite Ellison dwellings and each character’s pompous facade comes crashing down, the two’s disdain for one another subsides and attraction fills the air between them. Romance, gentry, murder—what’s not to love?

    The Cater Street Hangman

    By Anne Perry

    Jacqueline Winspear

    Buy Maisie Dobbs at Amazon

    Maisie Dobbs

    By Jacqueline Winspear

    If you haven’t heard of Maisie Dobbs, you’re in for a treat. Maisie, an exceptional and compassionate spirit who you’ll wish were your best friend, goes from a 14-year-old ingénue to frontline war nurse to self-reliant sleuth amid the hangover of the Great War in Jacqueline Winspear’s titular novel. Told with particular attention dedicated to setting and character, Maisie Dobbs is the first in a series that sets the bar for what a “heroine” should be.

    Maisie Dobbs

    By Jacqueline Winspear

    Donna Leon

    Buy Death at La Fenice at Amazon

    Death at La Fenice

    By Donna Leon

    Donna Leon’s debut is not only a deftly handled murder mystery, it’s one heck of a way to transport oneself to the canals of Venice without having to step foot on a plane. The first in Leon’s sinking city series investigates the murder of a conductor who is killed at the La Fenice opera house. The culprit? Cyanide. The crack detective? Commissario Guido Brunetti. Rolls off the tongue, doesn’t it? Opera being Leon’s passion, don’t be surprised if notes of Mozartean libretto dance in your head long after the last chapter.

    Death at La Fenice

    By Donna Leon

    Tana French

    Buy In the Woods at Amazon

    In the Woods

    By Tana French

    The gist is simple enough: Man investigates murder case that bears a mysterious resemblance to one from his childhood. But the thrilling Irish narrative of Tana French’s New York Times bestseller is as intricate as they come. In the Woods tells the story of Rob Ryan, a detective in the Dublin Murder Squad whose search for a girl’s murderer stirs up eerie memories he’s kept locked away, and his partner, Cassie Maddox, who’s the only one privy to what’s in Ryan’s Pandora’s box. Just like in The Secret Place and Broken Harbor expect to come undone upon completion.

    In the Woods

    By Tana French

    Ann Cleeves

    Buy Raven Black at Amazon

    Raven Black

    By Ann Cleeves

    The first in the raved-about Shetland Island Quartet, Ann Cleeves' Duncan Lawrie Dagger Award winner plays out like a taut thriller amid an atmospheric Scottish backdrop. A holiday whodunit that just may keep you guessing until the final page, Raven Black is about a woman who finds her teenage cousin dead in the snow post NYE, the humdrum simpleton who gets the blame, and the crack investigator who unearths the web of secrets and lies lurking beneath the snowy surface.

    Raven Black

    By Ann Cleeves

    Charles Todd

    Buy A Test of Wills at Amazon

    A Test of Wills

    By Charles Todd

    An Edgar and Anthony Award-nominated gem, A Test of Wills is the introduction to a post-traumatic Scotland Yard inspector named Ian Rutledge. Set in a post-WWI Great Britain, the story vividly evokes place and time, while simultaneously sucking the reader into Rutledge’s world of murder, malice, and shell shock. Not convinced? How about this simple and to-the-point pull quote from Stephen King: “You’re going to love Todd.”

    A Test of Wills

    By Charles Todd

    Elly Griffiths

    Buy The Crossing Places at Amazon

    The Crossing Places

    By Elly Griffiths

    Elly Griffiths’s waterlogged thriller takes readers to the marshy shores of Norfolk, where a cat-lady archeologist who was previously content digging up whatever secrets the earth chose to divulge that day is called up to help unearth the mystery of what happened to a little girl whose bones were found on the beaches near the English saltmarsh. Couple that with some mysterious pen-palling from the believed killer and you’ve got a hot commodity on your hands.

    The Crossing Places

    By Elly Griffiths

    From the first lady of American mystery... Download your FREE copy of Masterpieces of Mystery by Anna Katharine Green when you sign up for Early Bird Books!

    Featured Photo: Louise Penny, via PRWeb

    Louise Pennymysterythriller


    scroll up