• search-icon

11 Children's Books Like Winnie the Pooh That We Still Love

The release of Christopher Robin has made us wistful for other childhood favorites.

The best children’s books stay alive in our minds long after we’ve graduated to more mature genres. Many of them also live on in movies and television shows—Winnie the Pooh being a prime example. 

Since A.A. Milne first introduced the series in 1926, young readers have fallen in love with the fictional teddy and his group of funny, furry friends. And the recent press surrounding Christopher Robin—the live-action adaptation starring Ewan McGregor—has reminded us that our love for Pooh & Co. has outlasted our childhoods and carried over into our adult years. Below, you'll find eleven other children's books that bring us back to the days of bedroom stories featuring Pooh Bear and his pals in the Hundred Acre Wood.


Buy The Tale of Peter Rabbit at Amazon

The Tale of Peter Rabbit

By Beatrix Potter

One of the best-selling books of all time, The Tale of Peter Rabbit was originally written for a five-year-old boy named Noel Moore. But Beatrix Potter's idle project eventually became a literary sensation, once it made its way to a publisher's desk in 1902 (a journey that was jump-started by Noel’s supportive mother). More than that, Potter made the revolutionary decision to capitalize on the story's popularity through merchandising. Her strategy was a huge success:  We can confirm that we once owned Peter Rabbit-themed tea sets, stuffed animals, and games. The book was also adapted into a film starring James Corden, Sam Neill, and Margot Robbie.

The Tale of Peter Rabbit

By Beatrix Potter

Buy Classic Franklin Stories Volume One at Amazon

Classic Franklin Stories Volume One

By Paulette Bourgeois and Brenda Clark

For decades, Franklin the Turtle has helped children comes out of their shells. He’s been around since the mid-1980s, encouraging young readers to take on life’s many challenges—from going to school to making new friends—despite their fears. Thanks to him, we could bravely overcome our childhood obstacles and be more prepared for the larger ones ahead.

Related: The Ultimate Family Road Trip Reading List 

Classic Franklin Stories Volume One

By Paulette Bourgeois and Brenda Clark

Buy The Complete Adventures of Curious George at Amazon

The Complete Adventures of Curious George

By H. A. Rey and Margret Rey

In 1941, Curious George entered the literary scene as “a good little monkey” who was “always very curious.” That curiosity tends to get him in quite a bit of trouble—though the Man in the Yellow Hat is always there to rescue him. This seven-book collection follows George's adorable antics after he arrives at a big-city zoo and finds a home with his human companion.

The Complete Adventures of Curious George

By H. A. Rey and Margret Rey

Buy The Berenstain Bears Picture Book Collection Volume Two at Amazon

The Berenstain Bears Picture Book Collection Volume Two

By Stan Berenstain and Jan Berenstain

The Berenstain Bears is a series that has touched generations of little readers—almost six, to be exact. For nearly 60 years, Papa Bear, Mama Bear, and their brood of little grizzlies have been teaching children important life lessons—without squandering the fun. This collection features six Berenstain picture books, including holiday-themed tales, a back-to-school story, and more.

Related: 11 Books That Makes Us Nostalgic 

The Berenstain Bears Picture Book Collection Volume Two

By Stan Berenstain and Jan Berenstain

Buy Anne of Green Gables at Amazon

Anne of Green Gables

By L. M. Montgomery

Marilla and Matthew Cuthbert thought they'd adopted an orphan boy, so imagine their surprise when the red-haired Anne Shirley shows up at their door. Though she isn't exactly what they wanted, the precocious and imaginative eleven-year-old soon charms her way into their hearts and home. L.M. Montgomery's series spans Anne's entire life, includes 17 books, and has inspired countless adaptations—even a Japanese anime series.

It’s hard to sum up Anne's impact on readers, both young and old, but few other heroines have been such a long-standing role model. In fact, we still want to be her.

Anne of Green Gables

By L. M. Montgomery

Buy Alice's Adventures in Wonderland at Amazon

Alice's Adventures in Wonderland

By Lewis Carroll

Seven-year-old Alice is shocked to find a coat-wearing, pocket watch-holding rabbit. Curious, she follows him to his rabbit hole—and well, the rest is history. The book is now a treasured classic whose characters have become major cultural touchpoints: We smile "like a Cheshire cat" and are "mad as a hatter"—all thanks to the brilliant mind of Lewis Carroll. From creative retellings to big screen adaptations, we love the story of Alice's adventures in whatever form it's told.

Alice's Adventures in Wonderland

By Lewis Carroll

Buy The Wonderful Wizard of Oz at Amazon

The Wonderful Wizard of Oz

By L. Frank Baum

In Baum’s classic tale, a twister whisks Dorothy Gale off to the magical land of Oz. Per the suggestion of the Good Witch, she travels a yellow brick road to find the Wizard, whose powers can send her back to Kansas. Of course, she encounters an eclectic group of misfits—and the Wicked Witch of the West—along the way. We probably spent as many days reading Baum’s original tale as we watched it onscreen (and spent just as many Halloweens wearing sparkly slippers).

The Wonderful Wizard of Oz

By L. Frank Baum

Buy The Secret Garden at Amazon

The Secret Garden

By Frances Hodgson Burnett

When Mary is the only Lennox to survive a cholera outbreak, she’s sent to live with her wealthy but emotionally distant uncle. At first, she’s miserable—though the discovery of a beautiful garden soon lifts her spirits. They soar even higher when she befriends 12-year-old Colin, her long-lost and disabled cousin. Through their love, friendship, and the unique magic of the garden, Colin eventually regains full use of his legs.

Related: 13 Books Our Favorite Celebrities Love 

The Secret Garden

By Frances Hodgson Burnett

Buy A Bear Called Paddington at Amazon

A Bear Called Paddington

By Michael Bond

Another beloved bear like Pooh, Paddington made his debut in this 1958 classic before starring in his own book series, TV shows, and movies. We first meet him when he arrives in London from Peru, a note clipped to his coat (Michael Bond's nod to World War II child refugees). After finding him, the Brown family gives him a new home—and begins the wildest adventure of their lives. Nowadays, Bond’s troublemaking but well-meaning teddy is a staple of British kids lit.

A Bear Called Paddington

By Michael Bond

Buy The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe at Amazon

The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe

By C.S. Lewis

The book that kicked off Lewis’ bestselling fantasy series, The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe offered our first tour of a magical world found in the most unexpected of places. When the youngest Pevensie sibling, Lucy, climbs through an old wardrobe, she enters Narnia—a land populated by amazing creatures and an evil queen. Decades after its publication, Lewis’ hidden universe of war, witches, and talking animals still enthralls audiences around the globe.

Related: 10 Childhood Characters You Wish Were Your Friends 

The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe

By C.S. Lewis

Buy The BFG at Amazon

The BFG

By Roald Dahl

The BFG—the “big friendly giant,” that is—isn’t like others of his kind. He doesn’t want to crush tiny humans and eat them for dinner. Instead, he wants to befriend them! Roald Dahl arguably has written more nostalgic books than any other author, but his story of a kind-hearted, misunderstood giant—and his friendship with a young orphan girl—has an extra special place on our shelf.

The BFG

By Roald Dahl

Featured still of "Christopher Robin" (2018), via Disney

KEEP SCROLLING FOR MORE BOOK STORIES

Created on 06 Aug 2018

scroll up