• search-icon

The Best Free and Discounted Apple Books to Download Right Now

Score some great reads without breaking the bank.

As bibliophiles, we can't help but want to buy every book in sight—even if our TBR pile is starting to look like the Empire State Building. But when we get the books for great, affordable prices, we don't have to feel so bad about it...

The Apple Books store, formerly known as iBooks, has thousands of free and discounted titles that'll help you fill your digital library without emptying your wallet. Browse the following list for a taste of some of their best ebook deals, from gripping mysteries and thrillers to novels by bestselling authors like Margaret Atwood and Ken Follett.

Free Books 

Buy The Fireproof Girl at Amazon

The Fireproof Girl

By Loretta Lost

On Sale $

0.00

$

CIA codebreaker Sophie Shields has come a long way since her days as a neglected orphan in the system. Though she's now happy and thriving in Washington, D.C., her mind often drifts to Cole Hunter—the protective foster brother who always stood by her side. They’ve kept in touch via letters, but it seems an in-person reunion may be out of the question: Cole, now a well-known architect, has apparently been murdered...though Sophie isn’t so convinced. While she investigates Cole’s death in the present, author Loretta Lost takes us to the past—where she reveals more about the pair’s backstory, their intense connection, and the dangerous secrets that have carried over into their adult lives...

The Fireproof Girl

By Loretta Lost

Buy Before He Kills at Amazon

Before He Kills

By Blake Pierce

On Sale $

0.00

$

As the only young female on her local police force, Mackenzie White sticks out like a sore thumb among her colleagues. But despite their many differences and misunderstandings, even the male detectives know they cannot solve their latest case without her: A woman was just found hanging from a pole—and nobody can find the culprit. Along with the FBI, Mackenzie and her team must work together to follow the trail of a human monster before more innocent lives are taken...But with her own personal demons and a growing crush on one of the agents, can Mackenzie manage to assemble the pieces of this gruesome puzzle without falling apart herself?

Before He Kills

By Blake Pierce

Buy Hostile Witness at Amazon

Hostile Witness

By Rebecca Forster

On Sale $

0.00

$

Criminal defense lawyer Josie Baylor-Bates left her job at a major firm for a calmer, smaller practice of her own. But when a friend’s daughter is charged with murdering a chief justice of the Supreme Court, Josie can’t resist taking on the high-profile case—especially when it seems that 16-year-old Hannah is destined for an adult prison. Josie's success hinges on her ability to uncover Hannah’s motives—is she simply an impulsive teenager, or is there more to the story?—though politics, family dramas, and her client’s uncooperativeness make securing a victory all the more difficult.

Hostile Witness

By Rebecca Forster

Discounted Books 

Buy Woman No. 17 at Amazon

Woman No. 17

By Eden Lepucki

On Sale $

1.99

$

Now that writer Lady Daniels is on a trial separation with her husband, she desperately needs an extra hand to wrangle her two sons—an energetic toddler and a mute teenager. Enter “S,” a recent graduate and budding artist, who quickly becomes the answer to Lady’s prayers. But “S” has her own hidden agenda—she’s using the job to complete a new art project in which she tries to emulate her destructive mother—and her presence at the Daniels’ Hollywood home soon creates more problems than it solves. Secrets will come out and relationships will disintegrate, but who will come out on top at the end of this drama-filled summer?

Woman No. 17

By Eden Lepucki

Buy The Library at the Edge of the World at Amazon

The Library at the Edge of the World

By Felicity Hayes-McCoy

On Sale $

1.99

$

Things are not going well for 50-something Hannah Casey: Now that she's discovered her husband’s infidelity, she’s forced to return to the little Irish town she left behind—and, even worse, to her irascible mother’s home. While her daughter is off galavanting abroad, Hannah bides her time by evading the local gossips (for whom she’s become a favorite subject), shuttling books around town, and restoring the cottage she’s recently inherited. But a greater purpose emerges when the future of the Lissbeg Library comes into question, forcing Hannah to rally the neighbors she’s so resolutely avoided...A story of community, self-discovery, and starting over, The Library at the Edge of the World is a feel-good novel for fans of Maeve Binchy, Fannie Flagg, and Jenny Colgan.

Related: 10 Books About Books for the Devoted Bibliophile 

The Library at the Edge of the World

By Felicity Hayes-McCoy

Buy The Color of Our Sky at Amazon

The Color of Our Sky

By Amita Trasi

On Sale $

1.99

$

Born into one of the lower castes of Indian society, 10-year-old Mukta is destined for a life of prostitution when an unexpected savior sweeps in. Suddenly, she finds herself living with a middle-class family, where Tara—the spirited 8-year-old daughter—shows her a kinder side of the world. The girls’ happiness is cut tragically short when, on a night in 1993, Tara’s mother is killed and Mutka is kidnapped from their home. A decade will pass until Tara, 18 and newly-returned to her home country, will descend into the dangerous world of human trafficking in search of the girl she loved like a sister...Like Khaled Hosseini’s The Kite Runner, The Color of Our Sky is a heartfelt novel about love, friendship, and the sacrifices we are willing to make for both.

The Color of Our Sky

By Amita Trasi

Buy Surfacing at Amazon

Surfacing

By Margaret Atwood

On Sale $

2.99

$

On a remote Quebecois island, an unnamed (and unreliable) narrator enjoys a week-long vacation with her boyfriend and their married friends. But for her, this isn’t simply a relaxing getaway—it's an opportunity to prove her allegedly-dead father is, in fact, still living in the area. The recovery of childhood memories soon drives a wedge between herself and the others, drawing Atwood's protagonist deeper into the Canadian wildness while also loosening her grip on reality. Surfacing is a lot of things—a mystery, a psychological thriller, and an exploration of men vs. women, humans vs. nature—but, first and foremost, it's an enthralling read from one of our greatest storytellers.

Surfacing

By Margaret Atwood

Buy The Modigliani Scandal at Amazon

The Modigliani Scandal

By Ken Follett

On Sale $

2.99

$

A cutthroat competition stands at the center of this 1985 thriller from the author of The Pillars of the Earth. The art world is intrigued by the alleged existence of a lost Modigliani painting—and a small army of people are desperate to get their hands on it. First, there’s art historian Dee Sleign, who sees it as the crown jewel in her study of drug-inspired works. When she brings her Uncle Charles, a scheming gallery owner, into the fray, she inadvertently gets a second rival: a scorned artist who hates Charles' guts. And then there's Julian Black—another gallery owner, and a broke one at that—who will do anything to turn his life back around. Who among them will find the legendary Modigliani before the others? The answer is just one download away...

The Modigliani Scandal

By Ken Follett

Buy The Sound of Gravel at Amazon

The Sound of Gravel

By Ruth Wariner

On Sale $

2.99

$

The daughter of a polygamist father and a former member of a Mormon cult community, her childhood was unconventional to say the least. Yet, in spite of the hardships and inequities she endured, there was still great love amongst Ruth and her 42 siblings. Wariner’s instant New York Times bestseller sheds light on a lifestyle that exists on the edges of society and the sacrifices one must make for a better future.

The Sound of Gravel

By Ruth Wariner



scroll up