The Complete Reese's Book Club List

No matter what you like to read, Reese has a book pick for you!

reese witherspoon and her book club picks

In June of 2017, Reese Witherspoon launched her official book club with her company, Hello Sunshine. Each month Reese adds another addictive novel, memoir or collection of short stories that she truly loves to her book club list. 

Every one of Reese’s book picks seems to be something she truly loves. Case in point: Reese stars in the Hulu adaptation of Little Fires Everywhere, her book club pick for September 2017. 

There’s something for everyone on Reese’s book club list. To help you decide where to start, we’ve categorized the entire Reese Witherspoon book club list by genre. Happy reading! 

Related: 25 Thoughtful Book Club Questions for Any Novel 

For fans of contemporary fiction

The Jetsetters by Amanda Eyre Ward

Dysfunctional family goes away together on a Mediterranean cruise: What’s not to love?”—#1 New York Times bestselling author Elin Hilderbrand

Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman

“I fell in love with Eleanor, an eccentric and regimented loner whose life beautifully unfolds after a chance encounter with a stranger; I think you will fall in love, too!” —Reese Witherspoon

Daisy Jones & The Six by Taylor Jenkins Reid

A gripping novel about the whirlwind rise of an iconic 1970s rock group and their beautiful lead singer, revealing the mystery behind their infamous breakup. This book is also featured in our book club picks for Spring 2020

You Think It, I’ll Say It by Curtis Sittenfeld

According to Reese Witherspoon, this short story collection is full of wonderful characters—“They’re so complex and interesting, and in every story, you’ll find them going through these pivotal moments in their lives.”

Next Year in Havana by Chanel Cleeton

After the death of her beloved grandmother, a Cuban-American woman travels to Havana, where she discovers the roots of her identity—and unearths a family secret hidden since the revolution...

This Is How It Always Is by Laurie Frankel

Rosie and Penn want their son Claude to be whoever Claude wants to be. They’re just not sure they’re ready to share that with the world. Soon the entire family is keeping Claude’s secret. Until one day it explodes.

Related: 10 Must-Read LGBT Books

Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens

Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Check out more books like Where the Crawdads Sing.

Erotic Stories For Punjabi Widows by Balli Kaur Jaswal

A lively, sexy, and thought-provoking East-meets-West story about community, friendship, and women’s lives at all ages—a spicy and alluring mix of Together Tea and Calendar Girls.

Such a Fun Age by Kiley Reid

Such a Fun Age is a page-turning and big-hearted story about race and privilege, set around a young black babysitter, her well-intentioned employer, and a surprising connection that threatens to undo them both.

The Scent Keeper by Erica Bauermeister

A moving and evocative coming-of-age novel about childhood stories, families lost and found, and how a fragrance conjures memories capable of shaping the course of our lives.

The Rules of Magic by Alice Hoffman

In the prequel to Practical Magic, Alice Hoffman delivers “fairy-tale promise with real-life struggle” (The New York Times Book Review) in a story how the only remedy for being human is to be true to yourself.

Related: 9 of Our Favorite Alice Hoffman Books

For fans of historical fiction books

The Henna Artist by Alka Joshi 

Perfect for fans of Manju Kapur, “This vivid story is so rich and complex… reading about Lakshmi’s journey from escaping an abusive marriage to becoming one of the most sought-after henna artists in Jaipur captivated me from the first chapter to the final page.” —Reese Witherspoon

The Giver of Stars by Jojo Moyes

Set in Depression-era America, a breathtaking story of five extraordinary women and their remarkable journey through the mountains of Kentucky and beyond.

The Alice Network by Kate Quinn

Two women—a female spy recruited to the real-life Alice Network in France during World War I and an unconventional American socialite searching for her cousin in 1947—are brought together in a mesmerizing story of courage and redemption.

The Night Tiger by Yangsze Choo

An utterly transporting novel set in 1930s colonial Malaysia, perfect for fans of Isabel Allende and Min Jin Lee.

The Secrets We Kept by Lara Prescott

A thrilling tale of secretaries turned spies, of love and duty, and of sacrifice--inspired by the true story of the CIA plot to infiltrate the hearts and minds of Soviet Russia, not with propaganda, but with the greatest love story of the twentieth century: Doctor Zhivago.

For people who love edgy thrillers

Conviction by Denise Mina

A true crime podcast sets a trophy wife's present life on a collision course with her secret past in this "blazingly intense" Reese Witherspoon book club pick and New York Times Best Crime Novel of the Year (A. J. Finn).

Something in the Water by Catherine Steadman

If you could make one simple choice that would change your life forever, would you? “A psychological thriller that captivated me from page one. What unfolds makes for a wild, page-turning ride! It’s the perfect beach read!”—Reese Witherspoon

The Last House Guest by Megan Miranda

“No one can be trusted in the latest chilling thriller from master of suspense, Megan Miranda. The Last House Guest is a lightning-fast mystery, full of menace and unexpected twists and turns that will have readers on the edge of their seats.” —Mary Kubica, New York Times bestselling author of The Good Girl

Still Lives by Maria Hummel

Kim Lord's new exhibition, Still Lives, features portraits in which she depicts herself as famous murdered women. When Lord never shows up to her own gala, editor Maggie Richter gets drawn into her own investigation of Lord's disappearance, fearful that the artist might have met the same fate as the women in her paintings.

Whisper Network by Chandler Baker

“Part page-turning thriller, part smart examination of the #MeToo movement, part feminist rallying cry…Whisper Network is the satisfying “beach read” we’ve earned.”

—The Daily Beast

Little Fires Everywhere by Celeste Ng

“To say I love this book is an understatement. It’s a deep psychological mystery about the power of motherhood, the intensity of teenage love, and the danger of perfection. It moved me to tears.” —Reese Witherspoon. Check out more books like Little Fires Everywhere.

The Other Woman by Sandie Jones

The Other Woman will have you questioning her on every page, in Sandie Jones' chilling psychological suspense about a man, his new girlfriend, and the mother who will not let him go.

The Last Mrs. Parrish by Liv Constantine

"Filled with envy, deception, and power, it’s a great reading escape. And there is a thrilling twist at the end!!" —Reese Witherspoon

The Guest List by Lucy Foley

"Evok[es] the great Agatha Christie classics…Pay close attention to seemingly throwaway details about the characters’ pasts. They are all clues.” —New York Times Book Review

The Lying Game by Ruth Ware

“Missing Big Little Lies? Dig into this psychological thriller about whether you can really trust your nearest and dearest.” —Cosmopolitan

Related: 17 Books Like Big Little Lies

For fans of unexpected romance

The Cactus by Sarah Haywood

In this charming and poignant debut, one woman’s unconventional journey to finding love means learning to embrace the unexpected.

The Light We Lost by Jill Santopolo

He was the first person to inspire her, to move her, to truly understand her. Was he meant to be the last? “It's the epic love story of 2017.”—Redbook

The Proposal by Jasmine Guillory

The New York Times bestselling author of The Wedding Date serves up a novel about what happens when a public proposal doesn't turn into a happy ending, thanks to a woman who knows exactly how to make one on her own…

One Day in December by Josie Silver

Two people. Ten chances. One unforgettable love story. “Get ready to be swept up in a whirlwind romance. It absolutely charmed me.”—Reese Witherspoon

Related: 8 Modern Romance Novels to Cozy Up with This Winter

For people who think real life is more compelling than fiction

I’m Still Here by Austin Channing Brown

Recently, books about race have been crucial in helping us understand what's happening in America—and how our history made it inevitable. Brown's memoir is an eye-opening account of growing up Black, Christian, and female that exposes how white America’s love affair with “diversity” so often falls short of its ideals.

Untamed by Glennon Doyle

“This memoir is so packed with incredible insight about what it means to be a woman today , what did we learn as young girls about how to behave or believe, and why we need to free ourselves from a lot of these ideas that don’t work anymore.” —Reese Witherspoon

Fair Play by Eve Rodsky

Tired, stressed, and in need of more help from your partner? Imagine running your household (and life!) in a new way…

The Library Book by Susan Orlean

In The Library Book, Orlean chronicles the LAPL fire and its aftermath to showcase the role that libraries play in our lives, and reexamines the case of Harry Peak, the blond-haired actor long suspected of setting fire to the LAPL more than thirty years ago.

This Is the Story of a Happy Marriage by Ann Patchett

This Is the Story of a Happy Marriage takes us into the very real world of Ann Patchett’s life. Stretching from her childhood to the present day, from a disastrous early marriage to a later happy one, it covers a multitude of topics, including relationships with family and friends, and charts the hard work and joy of writing, and the unexpected thrill of opening a bookstore.

Braving the Wilderness by Brené Brown

A timely and important book that challenges everything we think we know about cultivating true belonging in our communities, organizations, and culture.

Happiness by Heather Harpham

A shirt-grabbing, page-turning love story that follows a one-of-a-kind family through twists of fate that require nearly unimaginable choices.

From Scratch by Tembi Locke

This memoir is “a captivating story of love lost and found” (Kirkus Reviews) set in the lush Sicilian countryside, where one woman discovers the healing powers of food, family, and unexpected grace in her darkest hours.

Related: 15 Best Memoirs That Will Change Your Outlook on Life

Want more celebrity book club picks? Check out the complete Oprah’s Book Club list.

Related: Good Book Club Books to Read During Quarantine 

This post is sponsored by Open Road Media. Thank you for supporting our partners, who make it possible for Early Bird Books to continue publishing the book stories you love.

Published on 11 Mar 2020