• search-icon

12 Gift Ideas for the Book Lovers in Your Life

Shopping for a bibliophile has never been easier.

Tis officially the season of giving—which means it’s time to start your holiday shopping. We’re here to help you tick your favorite bibliophiles off your list with our handy-dandy guide to gift ideas for book lovers. From collectable editions of classic novels to a quotable, author-inspired candle, these literary-themed presents will earn you so much kudos from your bookish friends and family that you won’t even need a gift receipt. 

Buy 1,000 Books to Read Before You Die at Amazon

1,000 Books to Read Before You Die

By James Mustich

Even expert bibliophiles need some recommendations every now and then—and James Mustich's A-Z book guide is here to help. He's laid out an extensive literary bucket list that's filled with obscure gems, books from around the world, the classics you've been (regrettably) neglecting, and so many others. Should you want to take a deeper dive into a particular book or author canon, you can also refer to the footnotes on relevant adaptations and further reading. All in all, this massive tome is your one-way ticket to living your best (reading) life.

1,000 Books to Read Before You Die

By James Mustich

Louisa May Alcott Literary Candle

literary candle
  • Photo Credit: Paddywax

No reading nook is complete without a literary candle. This one is dedicated to Little Women author Louisa May Alcott, and even features an encouraging quote for those days when you need to lighten up your room and your spirits: "You have so many extraordinary gifts; how can you expect to live an ordinary life?" 

If Alcott isn't your jam, the rest of the Paddywax Library Collection offers a number of other author-inspired candles, from Dickens to Twain.

Jane Austen Mug

literary gifts
  • Photo Credit: Obvious State

Now that the weather has officially turned colder, it's the perfect time to curl up with a cuppa and a comforting read. Sip on your brew of choice from this quotable mug—which only serves to prove that Jane Austen is our tea-drinking sister from another mister.

Literary Coloring Book

Buy Romeo and Juliet Coloring Book at Amazon

Romeo and Juliet Coloring Book

By William Shakespeare and Bethan Janine

Coloring books are no longer just for kids! Like reading, they're a great way for busy adults to take a restorative, creative breather. This Romeo and Juliet coloring book has gorgeous illustrations and quotations, all awaiting a splash of color (and a place on your wall, if you so choose). When you finish this one, there are plenty of others to tackle next—including books for fans of Pride and Prejudice, Outlander, and Game of Thrones.

Romeo and Juliet Coloring Book

By William Shakespeare and Bethan Janine

"Novels of the 1800s" Tote Bag

literary gifts
  • Photo Credit: Ideal Bookshelf

This adorable tote will be the envy of bibliophiles everywhere. Featuring illustrations of 19th-century classics like Moby Dick and A Tale of Two Cities, it's just one of Ideal Bookshelf's many gorgeous designs for literary accessories, apparel, and prints. Your books deserve to be carried in something that's just as beautiful as they are.

Book Lover's "Bookaholic" T-Shirt

literary gifts
  • Photo Credit: Tee Public

Brand yourself as the proud reading addict that you are! This cute t-shirt—designed by yours truly—describes you condition best: "An obsessive and prolific reader; a compulsive book buyer."

Bathtub Caddy

literary gifts
  • Photo Credit: Royal Craft Wood

Treat yourself or a friend to some at-home bibliotherapy with this bathtub caddy from Royal Craft Wood. Complete with a book rack, a stand for your tablet or e-reader, and a place to put your nightly glass of vino, it has everything a book lover needs to unwind after a stressful day.

Personal Library Kit

literary gifts
  • Photo Credit: Amazon

Inspired by old-fashioned library-lending techniques, this kit enables you to loan out your books in style—and, more importantly, to ensure you get them back on time. Cards, stamps, self-adhesive pockets, and more allow you to keep track of who borrowed what and when.

Buy The Puffin In Bloom Collection at Amazon

The Puffin In Bloom Collection

By Rifle Paper Co.

Get unique editions of Heidi, A Little Princess, Anne of Green Gables, and Little Women in this four-book collection from Rifle Paper Co. Each novel comes with an eye-catching hardcover illustrated by Anna Bond—plus a matching bookmark to go with it! Your favorite childhood classics have never looked so good.

The Puffin In Bloom Collection

By Rifle Paper Co.

"Drink with the Great Drinkers" Shot Glasses

literary gifts
  • Photo Credit: The Unemployed Philosophers Guild

There were certain literary types who were almost as good at drinking as they were at telling stories. This fun shot glass collection pays tribute to those writing boozers, giving you an opportunity to fulfill your lifelong dream of getting rowdy with the likes of Oscar Wilde, Dorothy Parker, Lord Byron, and W.B. Yeats.

"Bibliophile" 12-Month Planner

Buy 2019 Engagement Calendar: Bibliophile at Amazon

2019 Engagement Calendar: Bibliophile

By Chronicle Books, Jane Mount

As much as we'd like to spend every waking moment with our noses in a book, real life forces us to take a break and do other things. But by staying on task and organized with this bookish planner, you can still manage to squeeze in a bit of reading and relaxation each and every day.

2019 Engagement Calendar: Bibliophile

By Chronicle Books, Jane Mount

"100 Books" Bucket List Poster

literary gifts
  • Photo Credit: Gift Republic

We all have those books that we've been meaning to read but just...haven't. But thanks to this literary bucket list poster, you can quit making excuses and start holding yourself accountable! Scratch off the appropriate box every time you complete one of the 100 selected books, and watch yourself become the well-rounded reader you've always wanted to be.

Featured photo: freestocks.org / Unsplash 



scroll up